Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Spinning Liquid Mirror - New Release

My new release 'Spinning Liquid Mirror' is now available from Fabrica Records.

ORBLESS Spinning Liquid Mirror C-30 (Excerpts) by Fabrica

Spinning Liquid Mirror is a suite of deep journeys through modular synthesis. Influenced by research into planetary harmonics, phenomenological frequencies, and zero point energy systems, Orbless has delved headlong into closed system frequency modulation and self generated looping patches. With SLM, Orbless has pushed further into new realms of synthesis based composition.

It can be found here.

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Experimental Notations

I have a new composition in this group show "Experimental Notations" at Royal Nonesuch Gallery.

The piece is based on planetary harmonics and is titled
“188.16 Hz for Four Variations on a Sine Wave”

Experimental Notations
Curated by Jeff Ray of Mission Creek Music and Art Festival in collaboration with Royal NoneSuch Gallery and MacArthur B Arthur Gallery

September 9–October 2, 2011
Opening: September 9, 7-10pm

Royal NoneSuch Gallery and MacArthur b arthur in collaboration with Mission Creek Music and Arts Festival will host Experimental Notations, an exhibition of dialogues between sound and visual representation, and the systems or interpretive strategies that inspire them. Through video, drawing, and sculpture, these non-traditional scores will be accompanied by the sound which inspired their creation, or, resulted from the score. The exhibition will take place at both Royal NoneSuch Gallery and at our neighbor, MacArthur b arthur. More details about the exhibition and live music events can be found below.

Exhibition Artists:
Royal NoneSuch:
Katrina Lamb
Wayne Grim & Carey Lin & Kate O'Donnell
Michelle King
Jill Auckenthaler
Audra Wolowiec
Collin McKelvey
Michael Kelly
Farley Gwazda

MacArthur b arthur:
Jeff Kaiser
Scott Kiernan
Veronica Graham & Jesse Eisenhower
Chris Vogel
Brian Caraway
Matt Ingalls
Jesse Boardman Kauppila
Joel St. Julien & Jesus Beltran
Andy Lambert

Live Music:
Royal NoneSuch:
Zachary James Watkins & Matt Ingalls
Sunday, September 11, 4pm
Ellul & Deletist
Sunday, September 25, 4pm

MacArthur b arthur:
Pine and Radius
Sunday, September 18, 4pm

A description of the piece:
“188.16 Hz for Four Variations on a Sine Wave” is a composition based in planetary harmonics. Every object has a resonant frequency, including planets. Using the diameter of the Earth at its equator as the starting point, I have prepared a composition based around the resonant frequency derived from this. It is a sixteen-minute piece performed on tone generator, HP oscillator, Arrick Robotics voltage controlled oscillator, and guitar all resonating at or around 188.16 Hz. It is not precisely at 188.16 Hz except for the first few minutes because each sound source has differing waveforms, which generates secondary harmonics that slowly fade in and out of phase causing binaural beats.
This piece is my most recent exploration of resonant harmonics, and I have composed it as open ended. This piece can be performed by any number of sound sources, only limited by its ability to resonate at 188.16 Hz. At it’s most basic, the composition should be performed by two sound sources, which is the only limiting factor involved. I hope to continue with this series and explore more resonant frequencies and methods of utilization.